Our team

Family and Childcare Trust

Senior leadership

Justin Irwin, Interim Chief Executive

Justin has years of experience in the public and non-profit sector, including a Director role at ChildLine, Chief Executive of the young people’s charity Get Connected, and work with the Department for Education, the Department for Business, Innovation & Skills, Young Minds and the Young Women’s Trust. Justin has particular expertise in charity Governance and has been a Trustee and Vice Chair of LVSC and Bipolar UK.

For appointments please email Angela@familyandchildcaretrust.org.

Profile image Julia Margo, Chief Executive at Family and Childcare Trust

Julia Margo, Chief Executive (Julia is currently on parental leave until 2017)

Julia was previously Director of Consumer Insight at Which. Prior to this she spent 10 years in think tanks as the Deputy and Acting Director of Demos and Associate Director and Head of Strategic Research at the Institute for Public Policy Research (ippr). She was also Editor of Public Policy Research (now known as Juncture) the leading policy and politics journal published by Wiley-Blackwell. In her earlier career she spent four years as a commissioning editor for the Sunday Times’ News Review, and spent time as a parliamentary researcher for several MPs.

Julia is a regular commentator in the international and national media. She is an experienced chair and public speaker on a wide range of subjects and has published extensively in the areas of family, education and social policy.

For appointments please email Angela@familyandchildcaretrust.org.


Profile image Ellen Broome, Director of Programmes and External Affairs at Family and Childcare Trust

Ellen Broome, Director of Programmes and External Affairs (Ellen is currently on parental leave until 2017)

Ellen was Director of Policy and Public Affairs at the Children’s Society. During her time there, she instigated a parliamentary inquiry into children going missing from care, which led to significant reforms to tackle child protection failures. 

She also secured significant concessions to the Welfare Reform Act and most recently led the organisation’s campaign for free school meals, which led to the government announcing the introduction of free school meals for all children in infant school. 

Ellen has also worked for National Autistic Society (where she led the organisation’s work on the Autism Bill), in the private sector for Hill & Knowlton, and in Parliament. 

Email: ellen@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7528

Follow Ellen on Twitter @EllenBroome


Sue Murray-Johnson, Director of Finance and Resources

Sue Murray-Johnson, Director of Finance and Resources

Sue joined the Family and Childcare Trust in April 2014 as Director of Finance and Resources.  She has worked in the voluntary sector for over 25 years, most recently in similar finance and resources roles in a wide range of organisations.  She was the Deputy Chief Executive at the British Society for Rheumatology for 9 years, where she managed the Operational Services department with responsibility for finance, HR, membership, office and premises, and governance.  Previously, she was Director of Finance and Administration at ARTICLE 19, and Resources Manager at the Haemophilia Society.

Email: sue@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7518


Business development and fundraising

Krystyna Pinches, Head of Consultancy and NAFIS

Krystyna leads on consultancy, training, NAFIS and FFQA.

Email: krystyna@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7517


Megan Poole, Head of Corporate Partnerships and Events

Megan leads on the development of new relationships with corporates and manages our existing partnerships.

Email: meganp@familyandchildcaretrust.org


Kate Miller, Development Manager

Email: kate@familyandchildcaretrust.org


Rahel Geffen, Fundraising Manager

Email: rahel@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7527


William Tucker, NAFIS Officer

Email: william@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7521


External affairs team

Megan Jarvie, Head of Policy and Public Affairs

Megan provides strategic leadership to the organisation’s policy and public affairs work, building strong relationships with our key stakeholders and engaging effectively with our audiences.

Email: megan@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7528


Claire Harding, Head of Research

Claire leads our research design and delivery, ensuring that we produce high quality work which reflects the needs of UK families.

Email: Claire@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7526


Adam Butler, Senior Policy Officer

Email: adam@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7531


Gordon Cameron, Research and Policy Officer

Email: gordon@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7532


Mark Bou Mansour, Communications and Campaigns Manager

Mark manages the press office, digital communications and campaigning activity.

Email: mark@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7535 Press Mobile: 077538 334 772


Nhung Vu, Policy and Public Affairs Intern

Email: Nhung@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7536


Gwen Hardy, Research and Policy Intern

Email: gwen@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7538


Programmes team

Emma Ackerman, Head of Programmes

Emma heads up the delivery of all our programmes, including our flag-ship programme Parent Champions and Young Dads Collective.

Email: emma@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7524


Lizzie Hodgkins, Programmes Manager

Email: lizzie@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7513


Gayle Baker, Programmes Administrator

Email: gayle@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7512


Hannah Turner-Uaandja, Programmes Manager (YDC)

Email: hannah@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7539


Ruben Vemba, Programmes Assistant (YDC)

Email: ruben@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7525


Finance and resources team

Sue Murray-Johnson, Director of Finance and Resources

Sue leads on the development of financial strategy and works with the Senior Management Team to ensure the effective use of all resources in the organisation.

Email: sue@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7518


Angela Miller, Office Manager

Email: angela@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7514


Beth Haile, Finance Manager

Email: beth@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7519


Renata McGrath, Finance and Admin Officer

Email: renata@familyandchildcaretrust.org Telephone: 020 7940 7534